Kentucky Eligible Area Maps for Kentucky USDA Rural Development Housing Programs


Potential Changes to Kentucky Eligible Area Maps for
Kentucky USDA Rural Development Housing Programs

The U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development is conducting a review of all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for housing programs. The last rural area reviews were performed in 2017–2018 using 2015 American Community Survey (ACS) data. Rural area designations are reviewed every five years. This review will use the 2020 United States decennial census data.

Based on the 2020 U.S. census data and rural area guidance located in Handbook HB–1–3550, Chapter 5, the rural eligibility designation is under review for the following areas in Kentucky:

Currently eligible communities under review:
  1. Scott County – Georgetown
  2. Boone County – Burlington
  3. Kenton County – Independence
  4. Campbell County – Alexandria
  5. Bourbon County – Paris
  6. Woodford County – Versailles
  7. Jessamine County – Nicholasville
  8. Shelby County – Shelbyville
  9. Bullitt County – Mt. Washington
  10. Hardin County – Elizabethtown
Ineligible communities under review (expansion of ineligible areas):
  1. Madison County – Richmond
  2. Christian County – Fort Campbell
 Ineligible communities under review (reconsideration of eligibility):
  1. McCracken County – Paducah
  2. Boyd County – Ashland
The public shall have 90 days from the date of this public notice to submit comments regarding the potential loss of eligibility for Rural Development housing programs. Comments should be sent to For details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the Kentucky Rural Development Housing Program staff at 859-224-7353.